So Much More

29 Nov

My parents were from different faiths, so our family did not attend church regularly. Even so, when I was young, my mother read Bible stories to me at bedtime. I can still remember those books. They had glossy pages with beautifully illustrated, color pictures that somehow reached into my soul as my mom read to me. It was through her I came to know about Jesus, but He seemed far away and unapproachable.

Just knowing about God’s existence did very little to help me make wise choices growing up. Although I loved my parents, I didn’t consider their feelings or fully appreciate the sacrifices they made for me. My own needs and interests consumed my thinking and drove my foolish behavior.

By the time I was twenty years old, my life seemed shipwrecked from bad decisions. Failing miserably in a marriage relationship I had thought would be so perfect for me, I realized I did not have the wisdom to govern my own life. Understanding that simple truth led me on a search to find the God of the Bible, to know Him personally, not just to know facts and stories about Him, but to give myself to Jesus completely. This was something I did at age twenty-six and continue to do every day.

Hopefully, by reading Julia’s story in the Mr. Right Series novels, you have come to the same conclusion she did: you are not wise enough to make all the right decisions on your own; you need a close relationship with Jesus, to allow Him to direct your life.

I can tell you from forty years of knowing Him that God can be trusted to lead you where you need to go. His presence and wisdom will keep you from making costly mistakes that bring heart-breaking consequences and regrets. He’ll guide you through challenges that come in life and into so much more than you can imagine.

[That you may really come] to know [practically, through experience for yourselves] the love of Christ, which far surpasses mere knowledge [without experience]…Ephesians 3:19a (AMP)

God can do anything, you know—far more than you could ever imagine or guess or request in your wildest dreams! Ephesians 3:20 (MES)

Blessings,

Barbara

photo credit

Leave a Reply

