Believing the Best

5 Dec

One morning I received a phone call that really shook me. It was only a minute or two long, but by the end, I was feeling unappreciated, frustrated, and hurt. Can anyone relate? I kept going to my knees, extending forgiveness toward this person and situation, but try as I might, I couldn’t shake my upset feelings and move on.

Suddenly, I remembered that the answering machine had beeped when I picked up the call. Maybe the conversation had been recorded? Sure enough, I went back and listened to that conversation again—only to find I had completely misinterpreted it! That person had not said what I thought she had or used the tone I was so sure I’d heard.

I learned a huge lesson that day: Believe the best of others! Because sometimes, we get it wrong. Despite our best intentions, we filter things through our feelings and perspectives at the moment. We can actually hear tones that aren’t there or misread motives.

Before this incident, I wouldn’t have believed I was capable of missing it like this. (We know we’re good assessors of situations, right?) God used this to show me that I, too, can read something wrong.

I promised myself that morning to try to always grace others, believing the best of them, recognizing that maybe I’ve misunderstood. Even to grace them when I do read it right—still believing the best, that they are just “having a moment” like I sometimes do myself.

…Love (God’s love in us) does not insist on its own rights or its own way, for it is not self-seeking; it is not touchy or fretful or resentful; it takes no account of the evil done to it [it pays no attention to a suffered wrong]. It does not rejoice at injustice and unrighteousness, but rejoices when right and truth prevail. Love bears up under anything and everything that comes, is ever ready to believe the best of every person, its hopes are fadeless under all circumstances, and it endures everything [without weakening]. 1 Corinthians 13:5b-7 (AMP)

God’s love (in us) is pretty amazing! Let’s try this week to believe the best of others around us. Hopefully, they’ll believe the best of us, too!

Much love,

Lisa

photo credit

3 Responses to “Believing the Best”

  1. Ericka December 5, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    Perfect post for today, Lisa. I’m dealing with the latter half of the post and gracing a situation that often frustrates me. But a great reminder that Godly love believes the best and hopes the best. Thankfully, His ways are much higher than mine. ❤

  2. Talitha December 6, 2011 at 12:54 am #

    Wow I really needed this! Sometimes I feel I get so caught up in problem solving and dealing with people that they wear me out to the point that I can lose sensitivity to really understand where an individual is coming from! It is His work and I need to stay close to Him so I can truly see others through His eyes.

  3. mrrightseries December 6, 2011 at 7:34 am #

    Great thoughts, Ericka & Talitha! Thanks so much for sharing them here!

Leave a Reply

