Did You Know?

19 Dec

During my earlier years, my understanding of Christmas was more about the celebration itself (food, gifts, beautiful decorations, and, oh yes, my favorite cookies and candies). Although I knew the birth of Jesus was mixed in there somewhere, He was off in the background, taking a back seat to that jolly old man in the red suit and my excitement about the things I was about to enjoy. After receiving Jesus at age twenty-six, Christmas took on a whole new, personal meaning for me.

Now when I look at a nativity scene and see Mary holding baby Jesus, I am reminded that this was a girl in her teens, still full of hopes and dreams of what life might be. Although Jewish girls were taught in Scripture (Isaiah 7:14) that one day a virgin in Israel would be chosen to be the mother of the Messiah, nobody knew whom God would choose or when it would happen.

At the appointed time, the angel Gabriel appeared to Mary and told her that she was the one God had chosen to be the Messiah’s mother. Can you imagine what that must have been like? Their conversation is recorded in Luke 1:26-38. When Mary responded, May everything you have said about me come true, she had no way of fully comprehending all that her simple trust in God and willingness to yield to His plan would mean for her —or for all those in the ages to come who would place their faith in this Son for eternal life.

I love the song Mary, Did You Know? (See video below) Did you know that you were the reason Jesus left heaven and came to earth? Knowing He loves you that much will make each and every Christmas truly miraculous!

Love,

Barbara

photo credit

Leave a Reply

