Magnify

26 Dec

As we recently celebrated our Savior’s birth, we hopefully experienced a fresh awareness of God’s greatness and His love for us. Now that Christmas is over, our focus will shift to the new year ahead. Will we continue to focus on God’s greatness and love? Or will we allow circumstances to diminish how we view His greatness and love?

Think about seeing something through a set of binoculars. As you look through one end, the object is greatly magnified in size. However, if you flip the binoculars over and look through the other end, the very same object appears to be much smaller than normal. Either way, the actual size of the object stays the same; it’s simply our perception of it that is altered.

Have you ever focused on a problem so long and hard that it became distorted—so magnified in your mind that God’s ability to solve it seemed small in comparison? When that happens to me, I open my Bible and remind myself:

By the time I finish reading those Scriptures, I’m able to magnify the Lord (view and acknowledge His greatness and love). Doing that puts my problem in proper perspective; I can see that God is well able (and wanting) to walk me through it.

O magnify the Lord with me, and let us exalt His name together. I sought (inquired of) the Lord and required Him [of necessity and on the authority of His Word], and He heard me, and delivered me from all my fears. Psalm 34:3-4 (AMP)

As a new year approaches, remember that our God is big enough to handle anything that comes our way. He loves you, and so do we.

Barbara

photo credit

One Response to “Magnify”

  1. Stephanie December 26, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    Beautiful, Mom. I’m looking forward to that new year and new perspective.

    Steph

Leave a Reply

