Amazing Love

9 Jan

I often reflect on the amazing love the Lord extends to me each and every day. The best way I can relate to it is the moment I held our newborn daughter for the first time. As I looked into her precious face, a love I had never experienced before flowed through every part of me.

It was a different love than I had ever known: it had nothing to do with me and everything to do with her. She did nothing to earn this love I felt for her. She was helpless and had nothing to give yet. Even so, my love for her was so strong, I was sure no sacrifice for her would ever seem too great.

Because of my past mistakes, I knew our girl deserved and needed much more than I was capable of giving her. Knowing that led me on a search to find the help my husband and I would need to give Lisa the best life possible. Shortly after her birth, we both surrendered our hearts and lives to Jesus.

When we did, we received His amazing love for us—a love so strong that shedding His precious blood and laying down of His life was not considered too great a sacrifice to make in order to save us from our sin.

When we had our son, Jeff, a few years later, that same amazing love swept over me and my husband once again. Since then, God’s love continues to be felt for others as we embrace them: our son-in-law, daughter-in-law, grandchildren, and other people in our sphere of influence.

And we can see that it was while we were powerless to help ourselves that Christ died for sinful men. In human experience it is a rare thing for one man to give his life for another, even if the latter be a good man, though there have been a few who have had the courage to do it. Yet the proof of God’s amazing love is this: that it was while we were sinners that Christ died for us. Romans 5:6-8 (Phillips Translation)

As we begin this new year, please know that Christ loves you like no one else can! And that Lisa and I share His love for each of you!

Have a blessed 2012!

Barbara

photo credit

Leave a Reply

