Hear that Knock?

27 Jan

Just want to encourage you today with one little phrase:  Let Jesus be your source.

Source for what?

  • love
  • peace
  • a healthy mind
  • wisdom
  • patience
  • kindness
  • the strength you need to live this life
  • the direction & help you need to see God-dreams come to pass

Some people trust the power of chariots or horses, but we trust you, LORD God. Psalm 20:7 (CEV)

So many times, we find ourselves trusting in something other than our Lord.

  • success in school
  • a degree
  • our job
  • the fulfillment of a dream
  • a boyfriend
  • a boyfriend on the way
  • the approval or appreciation of others

We say, I’ll be happy

  • if I get to go to college
  • if I can ever get finished with college
  • if I get married
  • if I get out of my marriage
  • if I have kids
  • if my kids start acting right
  • if things at my job improve
  • if so-in-so gets fired at my job!
  • if I get the promotion I want
  • if I get more money
  • if I lose some weight
  • if more people like me
  • if so-and-so notices me

We have all these ifs we hinge our happiness on, but really, only He can satisfy. Only He can meet our deepest needs and never fail us.

If you’re looking to a man or other people to do that for you, you’ll be disappointed. That’s too much to expect of anyone but God Himself.

Only God can be what you need every time, no matter what you’re facing. Only He can be truly there for you in every way.

We take our lead from Christ, who is the source of everything we do. Ephesians 4:15b (MES)

They’re completely out of touch with the source of life, Christ, who puts us together in one piece, whose very breath and blood flow through us. He is the Head and we are the body. We can grow up healthy in God only as he nourishes us. Colossians 2:19 (MES)

So my questions to you today are:

  • Are you in touch with the source of life, Christ?
  • Are you letting Jesus put you together in one piece?
  • Are you letting Jesus be your source for what you need emotionally? Physically? Financially? Spiritually?
  • Are you letting Him nourish you and help you grow up healthy in God?

“Look! I stand at the door and knock. If you hear my voice and open the door, I will come in, and we will share a meal together as friends.” (Jesus speaking) Revelation 3:20 (NLT)

He’s willing and waiting to spend time with you! As you do (in prayer, worship, and reading His Word), you’ll see just what a good Friend He really is.

Much love,

Lisa

photo credit

2 Responses to “Hear that Knock?”

  1. Kathy Harvatin January 31, 2012 at 11:03 am #

    Lisa & Barb, I really love reading all your words of encouragement and scripture. No matter what age we are His word is always fulfilling. Thank You for the great job you both are doing! Love Aunt Kathy

    • mrrightseries January 31, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

      Thanks, Aunt Kathy! We’re so happy you are enjoying the posts. You’re right—His word fulfills like nothing else can! Thanks for commenting…You just made our day! : )

Leave a Reply

