My Soda Can

17 Feb

Do you ever find God hard to understand? To really understand all that He is (all-powerful, all-knowing, everywhere at once, holy, just, Truth, Creator…) and how much He loves us (no matter what)? He is so amazing, so beyond what we can comprehend.

I love the following quote from Francis Chan in his book Crazy Love: “Isn’t it a comfort to worship a God we cannot exaggerate?”

He says something else I thought was interesting: “Not being able to fully understand God is frustrating, but it is ridiculous for us to think we have the right to limit God to something we are capable of comprehending. What a stunted, insignificant god that would be! If my mind is the size of a soda can and God is the size of all the oceans, it would be stupid for me to say He is only the small amount of water I can scoop into my little can. God is so much bigger, so far beyond our time-encased, air/food/sleep-dependent lives.”

So even though we can’t fully wrap our minds around all God is, reading Bible verses helps us to know Him better. His words to us paint a picture of His character, His eternal perspective, and even His plan for our lives. (Isn’t it incredible is that God actually makes plans for us?)

May the verses below (in 2 translations) give you a little more insight into how much our amazing, awesome God genuinely loves you

The LORD says, “I will rescue those who love me. I will protect those who trust in my name. When they call on me, I will answer; I will be with them in trouble. I will rescue and honor them. I will reward them with a long life and give them my salvation.Psalm 91:14-16 (NLT)

“If you’ll hold on to me for dear life,” says God, “I’ll get you out of any trouble. I’ll give you the best of care if you’ll only get to know and trust me. Call me and I’ll answer, be at your side in bad times; I’ll rescue you, then throw you a party. I’ll give you a long life, give you a long drink of salvation!” Psalm 91:14-16 (MES)

photo credit (globe)

photo credit (soda can)

2 Responses to “My Soda Can”

  1. Lori February 21, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    Hi there 🙂 This is my first visit to this blog and I’m not sure who wrote this post about the soda can but I love it! It is so true about God and I sometimes feel a little frustrated at the lack of words in our human vocabulary to describe Him, all that He is, all that He does, and how He does it. The best I can do is say, “my mind explodes with wonder over Him”, it truly does! I absolutely love that God makes plans for us, that means I am here for a purpose and it get’s me excited to think that our Awesome Creator cares that much about me/us! I also love Psalm 91 and the Message version is especially wonderful, thank you for sharing that! 🙂

    • mrrightseries February 21, 2012 at 11:54 pm #

      Hi, Lori! So glad you stopped by our blog! Thank for sharing your thoughts on this post! My mom and I both write posts on this blog; this one happened to be mine (Lisa). I love you way you expressed the message of the post: “My mind explodes with wonder over Him.” : ) And as you said, it’s truly exciting that God cares so much and has a purpose for us. Hope you come back and join us here again soon!

Leave a Reply

