What’s Up with Your Hair???

2 Mar

Two simple stories today:

A few years ago, my friend (who was single at the time) was driving down the highway and passed the car in front of him. It apparently made the young woman driving that car angry; she pulled alongside him at the next red light and rolled down her window to yell at him. Their conversation went something like this:

“What’s your problem, driving around me like that?” she yelled.

“You were driving too slow,” he answered back.

“I think you’re a terrible driver!” she spat, still fuming.

“Well, I think you’re beautiful!” he answered, smiling.

Blushing, she pushed her hair off her face and smiled back. “Thanks!” she called with a wave as she pulled away, the light turning green.

I laugh every time I think of that story, how those simple and unexpected words turned that whole situation around.

A gentle answer deflects anger, but harsh words make tempers flare. Proverbs 15:1 (NLT)

Second story:

Right after college, I decided to make a change with my hair. If you know me, I have LOTS and LOTS of hair (and even more back then : ). I really wanted to grow my bangs out, but was very self-conscious about them being pulled back & pinned during the “in-between” stage. (Can anyone relate?)

I was at our church singles’ group one night, and someone asked me about my hair, but in an embarrassing way, like “What’s up with your hair???” Before I could respond, one of the guys standing nearby said, “I think it looks great.” I was so grateful for that comment, first because it was sincere and secondly, because it was thoughtful of him to speak up and answer for me, sparing me an explanation. (By the way, although I didn’t know that thoughtful guy very well at the time, I eventually married him. : )

The right word at the right time is like precious gold set in silver. Proverbs 25:11 (CEV)

The point of my stories: It doesn’t take a lot to make someone’s day. Just a few kind words can turn a situation around or build someone up. As you go into this weekend, look for opportunities to do just that. It’s amazing what a few well-timed words can do! (Feel free to comment and leave your story of a few kind words making all the difference for someone!)

Have a great weekend!

Lisa

photo credit

2 Responses to “What’s Up with Your Hair???”

  1. greyphoenix69 March 11, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

    Gee, what a nice story. I do get noticed with my hair more nowadays compared when I was in my teens. But the comment I get were mostly these.

    “When will you dye your hair?”

    Ha ha!

    • mrrightseries March 11, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

      @greyphoneix69: LOL Yes, we women have to deal with comments from others our whole lives. : ) Thanks for your comment today! Have a great rest of the weekend…

Leave a Reply

