What do You want?

9 Apr

Hey, everyone! Hope you had a wonderful Easter!

Focusing on the Easter story this weekend, were you once again struck by Who Jesus is? His character? The way He responded to situations? How He faced His greatest earthly challenge, going to the cross for us? I know I was!

I love the verses in the Gospels that describe Jesus’ moments in the Garden of Gethsemane. Reading through them again, I was reminded of a few things:

1) Jesus went to the Garden that night “as usual.” He often got away alone and spent time with the Father, pouring out His heart and filling up with God’s presence & strength.  So, am I doing the same? Or am I just doing my best in my own strength?

2) Jesus says in Matthew 26:41: “Watch and pray, lest you enter into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.” The Message Bible (paraphrase version) says, “Stay alert; be in prayer so you don’t wander into temptation without even knowing you’re in danger. There is a part of you that is eager, ready for anything in God. But there’s another part that’s as lazy as an old dog sleeping by the fire.” So, which part of me am I going to let lead?

3) In Luke 22:42, Jesus says, “Father, if it is Your will, take this cup away from Me; nevertheless not My will, but Yours, be done.” The Message says, “”Father, remove this cup from me. But please, not what I want. What do you want?” In today’s culture, things are mostly about what we want, how we want them, when we want them. Am I bringing my own preconceived ideas to the Father and saying, “Here they are, Lord. But what do You want?” Because in the long run, what He wants will be the best for both others and me. (Plus, I get to play a special, specific part in God’s master plan. How incredibly cool is that?!)

Hope these thoughts have encouraged you as you begin the week after Resurrection Sunday. Now is when we walk out what we’ve taken time to remember last weekend. : )

Love you!

Lisa

photo credit

Leave a Reply

