Mirror Mirror

4 Sep

Mirror Mirror on the Wall…who’s the fairest of them all?

Most of us have heard the story of Snow White—and her queen step-mother who is obsessed with her magic mirror (and the assurance that she is indeed the fairest in the land). When the queen realizes that young Snow White has surpassed her own beauty, things get dicey for the pretty princess.

Lately we’ve been discussing true beauty, and today I happened to read the culture clips at Plugged-In (a great site to check out before hitting the theaters). Check out the following quote/article I found, titled A Year Without Mirrors:

“There is nothing wrong with enjoying, um, looking at yourself in the mirror … but it’s important for every woman, and man, I think, to really think for a few minutes about whether there is a point of diminishing returns. Because we have so much more to offer the world than just our looks.”

Kjerstin Gruys, a 29-year-old PhD student in sociology who spent an entire year without looking at a mirror. Gruys undertook her radical experiment after a dispiriting day shopping for wedding dresses. “I saw myself in the mirror and was being critical,” she says. “I thought, ‘Well, maybe I should lose a little weight before the wedding,’ always a bad thing to focus on when you have a history of an eating disorder.” So she scrapped the mirrors and didn’t even look into one on her wedding day. It turned out to be a great decision, she says. “I’m getting my focus back to thinking about the real meaning of the day, which isn’t how I look but marrying the love of my life.” [abcnews.com, 8/15/12]

While I’m not suggesting you stop looking at mirrors (especially on your wedding day), I do love her thought that “…we have so much more to offer the world than just our looks.

I hope as you walk out this week, you remember that regardless of what you may think you see in that mirror sometimes, you are always beautiful, valuable, and incredibly loved!

Much love,

Lisa

photo credit

Leave a Reply

