No???

15 Oct

Remember our Top-Ten List of Things We WON’T Assume? Let’s hit #5 today…

We WON’T assume:

10.  We know it all.

9.   We can read people perfectly.

8.    We have to be like someone else.

7.   We have to be perfect in front of others.

6.   Adventures only happen to other people (or later in life)

5.   No now means no forever.

Sometimes we ask God for things, and He seems to say no. But we can’t assume He’s saying no for forever. He might just being saying no for a moment, so He can say yes very soon (or bring the answer to our prayer in a better way/at a better time).

My dad and mom were great parents and hard workers who provided a wonderful childhood for my brother and me. When I started my senior year of high school, they were naturally concerned about how they would pay for college. I wasn’t worried a bit. I had always dreamed of going to college, and I was confident God would make it happen for me.

I filled out scholarship application after application, answering a zillion questions, writing essays, etc. Eventually, I received news that I was a finalist for a $10,000 scholarship! That amount was huge for my family and me, so I asked God to give it to me, to let me win that competition.

I drove to Indianapolis for the finals (an impromptu live speech), did my best, and came home sure I’d be chosen. To my shock, I received a letter shortly afterwards stating I had not won. So the answer to my prayer? A big fat NO.

Yep, I cried big, disappointed tears as I read that letter. Then I dried my face and asked God yet again to take care of this for me. It didn’t really matter the exact when or how, just that He’d be faithful to take care of me (and my God-dreams).

Some time later, I received another letter saying I didn’t receive a $10,000 scholarship, but a four-year-tuition-free scholarship!  They would even pay for my books! And since I was being offered a tennis scholarship as well, my parents would only have to pay about $800 that year for room & board. (I ended up becoming a resident assistant at my dorm for the three years after that, which took care of room & board payments for the rest of school.) That meant my parents ended up paying just $800 for a $70,000+ education. Wow, God is so over-the-top good!!!

Please let my story encourage you today! God doesn’t play favorites. He will answer your prayers just as He answered mine. He may not answer them just as we want at the moment. Or on our timetable. But He’s faithful and will always bring something amazing to us if we cooperate with Him along the way.

I think back to crushes I had throughout high school and college, guys I begged God to “help it work out” with…Then I look at my amazing, handsome, best-friend husband and THANK GOD for not answering those prayers how I wanted!

So don’t assume that when things don’t go as you had hoped (or when you had hoped) that God has said no forever. He may very well just be saying no for a minute while He works things out for you…in a way you’ll be grateful for later.

Keep your eyes on Jesus and know that He loves you more than anyone else. Your God-dreams are safe in His loving hands.

Trust in the Lord, and do good; dwell in the land, and feed on His faithfulness. Delight yourself also in the Lord, and He shall give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord. Trust also in Him, and He shall bring it to pass. Psalm 37:3-5 (NKJ)

Have a great week knowing that you are loved—and you are not alone!

Lisa

photo credit

Leave a Reply

