What Now???

2 May

5297139766_0673e0255f_z

Watching the Michigan game a few weeks ago (great season BLUE!), I was reminded of my own college days. They don’t feel that long ago—yet it’s been quite a few years already! (YIKES!)

One of my favorite classes my freshman year was my Ethics class. The professor would present contrived scenarios to us students, asking what we would do in those situations. Situations like, if your children were starving to death, would you steal to feed them or let them die because stealing is wrong? You weren’t allowed to give an answer like, I’d pray for an inspired idea to find food or I’d petition God for His divine intervention. (Remember Elijah and the ravens?) Nope. You had to answer a or b and explain why. It was very stressful, but fascinating at the same time, to see how people worked through their reasoning or justified their choices.

One day my professor (who I greatly admired, by the way) referenced a story from the Bible. He explained the dynamics of that story and ended his thoughts with:  I could never serve a God like that!

To my shock and  and dismay, I realized that I actually agreed with him! What he said made total sense to me, and I couldn’t argue with it.

Suddenly, I felt at a crossroads: ditch my belief in God because of this seeming truth OR continue to believe in Him even though I couldn’t counter that argument.

I remember thinking long and hard about it, considering the times I had felt God’s presence, the relationship I had developed with Him, the verses I had read and believed, the ones I had literally seen come true in my life. I had experienced miracles I knew were real. So, what now?

I remember praying, “Lord, like my professor, I don’t understand You in this story. But I know You, and I trust you. If You could someday explain this to me, to help my understanding, that would be great! Either way, however, I know You are real and You have my heart.

A few years later, my pastor back home did a message on that very story. What he explained completely cleared up that issue for me, and I was so grateful that I didn’t throw away my faith in God over something I couldn’t wrap my mind around at the time.    (Remember our “Soda Can” post?)

Has someone said something to you that has rocked your world a little, caused you to doubt the truth of the Bible or your relationship with God? If so, take heart! Even Thomas, a disciple who actually spent time with Jesus, the miracle-working Son of God, needed reassurance in his faith. (John 20:24-29)

I love Jesus’ reaction to Thomas’ doubt of His resurrection. He didn’t scold him and dub him Doubting Thomas (as we’ve often heard him called). Instead, Jesus went directly to Thomas and addressed his doubt, helping him to believe. Then He encouraged us who would come later, declaring a blessing when we believe in Him without having the opportunity to put our hands on His scars and witness the resurrection with our own eyes.

When doubts come, as they may at some point, in some form or fashion, remind yourself that truth is truth, regardless of what you do or do not understand at a given moment. Be willing to wait, search, and dig a little rather than simply give up your faith. God loves you and is faithful. If you choose to seek Him with your whole heart, He will work with you and help you understand the truth of who He really is.

Have a fabulous week, beautiful girls!

Much love,

Lisa

photo credit

Leave a Reply

