No problem!

15 May

Inch 2013 pic (One of the lovely girls I met)

This past weekend, my mom, my oldest daughter, and I had a fantastic time at a convention, meeting teens and parents, sharing about the Mr. Right Series. There were several young women in particular that made the experience so worthwhile. It was great getting to know each of them, listening to them talk about their own dreams and passions.

I couldn’t help but want to make life easier for them, to help them however I could, to  set them up to win as they walked away from my table to face whatever awaited them in life.

Because sometimes the pressures of life can feel heavy, whether that pressure comes from other people’s expectations, our own expectations, or things like Facebook likes, Instagram comments, or magazine covers.

Take a moment to picture a young woman struggling under the weight of a big piece of furniture. No matter how hard she tries, she just can’t budge that dresser to get where she needs to go.

Have you ever seen a professional mover move a big piece of furniture? He wears a special strap around his shoulders that helps to distribute the weight. He slips that strap around the dresser and can easily move it wherever he wants. No problem!

Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30 NLT)

When life starts to feel heavy, remember that Jesus has given you a strap (His yoke) to help you shoulder responsibilities and move where you need to go. With Him as your teacher, navigating life can become much more easy and light.

Will heavy situations still pop up like that furniture? Yep. That’s life. But with Jesus, you’ll still be able to get where you need to go. No problem!

Love you, beautiful girls!

Lisa

Leave a Reply

