Summer Break from the Ordinary

30 Jul

6225535459_e4daa7c202_z

Hey, girls!

Hope you’re having a wonderful summer, a break from the ordinary in some way.  That’s what this summer has been for me, hence my hiatus from posting the last eight weeks. But though I’ve had to step away from the computer, you have been on my heart and in my thoughts!

Recently, my husband shared with me a dream on his heart, something he wants to do to help people in life. Driving in my car a few days later, singing along to my new favorite song, the kids in their own world, laughing and talking in the backseat, I was suddenly struck with a thought:

This dream my husband shared is also my dream! I was instantly swept back to a moment when I was a teen, reading a certain book for the umpteenth time, inspired by the beautiful passion in its pages, telling God how much I would love to help people in this way. And now, so many years later, my dream was coming out of my husband’s heart, waking up desires I had set aside for the moment.

Tears began to fall as I realized how very good God is, that in His amazing plan for us, He remembers and answers dreams for His glory.

If you are a young woman reading this, know that the time you spend pursuing God now counts more than you may realize. Go after Him with all you have. Spend time on your knees with Him in both prayer and worship. Let His Word become life to you. Read (or listen to : ) books that inspire you for more than just yourself. Let God develop you in the days, months, and years to come, knowing that while life may have many twists and turns as you follow His direction, God will use the dreams He’s given you, amazing you with not only how big His plan is for you, but also the immense privilege it is to be a part of it.

I plan to be back writing weekly in September, but until then, check out the many other posts waiting for you in our archives. I pray they encourage you as you finish out a great summer! (Oh, and our workbook officially comes out on Amazon, etc., in August, so please write and let me know what you think once you get one! : )

Much love,

Lisa

Here are some favorite posts you might want to check out first:

The Perfect Guy

Beautiful Dust

Go Ahead — Shine! 

Not Alone!

Series: Assumptions (10 posts)

(photo credit: Moyan Brenn)

Leave a Reply

